Glenorchy Arch is a historic symbol of the city’s role as a centre for industry and innovation, and of its community’s spirit of co-operation and craftsmanship.
In 1954, the Municipality of Glenorchy and local businesses joined forces to create a spectacular futuristic double arch as a symbol of Glenorchy’s civic pride and industry for the Tasmanian visit of the newly-crowned Queen Elizabeth.
The ‘Glenorchy Arch’, which originally spanned the highway from the Tasman Bridge into Hobart, was purchased by Glenorchy’s Riverfront Motel (formerly the Motel Derwent), in 1960 and has remained there as a Brooker Highway landmark ever since.
The arch has a unique place in design history, being one of the few remaining examples of large-scale space-age ‘Googie’ style construction, and perhaps the only commemorative arch, left in Australia.
Restoration is a joint project between the Beck family, current owners of the Riverfront Motel, and the Glenorchy City Council, with assistance from the Glenorchy Historical Society and the local community.
We are conducting research into the Arch’s origins - who designed it, who built it, what happened to it after the royal visit.
A highly successful community history day was held on Sunday 3 February, with 200 people in attendance.
We’ve discovered the original plans, the name of the designer, colour schemes.
We’re scoping the engineering and repair work required to restore the Arch as closely as possible to its original state in 1961.
We’re keen to find out what happened to the original crown, which was donated by Claudio Alcorso’s Silk and Textiles Pty Ltd, and the suspended ‘ring’ bearing the words ‘Municipality of Glenorchy’.